I'm a scaredy cat, I know!

2001-11-12 / 2:45 a.m.

I can not sleep! I had to work today and when I got home I took a nice long nap. I drank a shit load of coffee so I'll probably be up all night. No school tommorow because it is Veterans day!

I found out what my phobia is called! Automatonphobia! That is fear of anything that imitates life. In every definition I found, fear of ventriloquist dummies was inluded. I am not afraid of them but everything else that was mentioned. I am deathly afraid of these things:

1. Statues, especially lifelike ones. The more they appear to be alive the worse. Wax statues are horrible.

2. Taxidermy, stuffed animals made to appear alive! Ahhh!

3. Robotic animals, like at Chuck-e-cheese! Disney World is out of the question!

4. Large life like paintings. The bigger the worse. (I think sometimes I have a fear of large things- I dislike farm equipement and waterfall, they overwhelm me)

5. Airplanes hung on ceilings to make them seem to be in flight, it's just horribly frightening because they arent really flying.

When I was little I lived in a little town (Jerome Idaho) that had a huge cowboy in it. My grandma made me touch his feet once. Maybe this is where this fear originated.

I have never met anyone else who shared this fear. If you, or someone you knows has this fear or you have any information on it let me know. I'd be interested! My email is:[email protected].