Faux Jean

May 26, 2002 / 11:51 pm

I have been in a daze all day from lack of sleep. My friend Misty talked me into going to the Loring Block Party. (That's the neighborhood I live in.) She really wanted me to go to see the band Faux Jean.

It was crazy. Everyone was all drunk and dancing crazily. There were 50 year old polyamorous groups of people dancing and grinding with eachother. The men had hairy chests with open shirts and bandanas tied around their necks. It was charming. This one couple was so smashed that they were making out passionatly. The girl would stick her hands down the back of his pants to grab the guy's ass. I rolled my eyes more than my fair share of times. There was also this wicked beach ball being thrown over the crowd. People would bop it back and forth. It was quite annoying, and I spent a great deal of time looking around for it. I did not want to be bopped in the head. Those balls can smart. I found that a bit annoying. I like to be able to watch the show without fear of possible head trauma.

The band was cool though. They were very hipster with their matching red shirts and black ties. Everyone in the band had dyed black hair. My favorite was the only female of the group, Nicole K. She looked a lot like the Nanny named Fran, with her big hair and cute butt! She was super cute. The band was pretty good too. I'm glad that I went.